Trujillo, in northwestern Peru, is the capital of the La Libertad Region, and the third largest city in Peru. The urban area has 811,979 inhabitants and is an economic hub in northern Peru. The city is located at the banks of the Moche River, near its mouth on the Pacific Ocean, in a valley of great cultural hegemony.

While it may be conceived as a single city, Trujillo is not a single administrative unit, rather it is the core or center of a major metropolitan area that covers an area of 110,000 ha, and consists of 9 municipalities in the province, of which 5 are completely metropolitan area, while the remaining 4 are partially, and in which resides a population over the 804 thousand inhabitants, constituting itself as the third most populous metropolitan area of Peru.

The foundation of the city is not defined accurately, it is known that he was Diego de Almagro founded on December 6, 1534 under the name “New Castile Trujillo, a territory populated by ancestral civilizations ancient, yet its foundation was made official by Francisco Pizarro on March 5, 1535, date on which settled its first chapter, is administratively and commercially in a major city of the Viceroyalty of Peru.

For his role in the independence process, Trujillo was conferred the title “Meritorious City and Faithful to the Fatherland”, the city is the birthplace of Peru’s judiciary, has met twice with the role of Capital country and was the scene of the Revolution of Trujillo in 1932.

Trujillo is known as the “City of Eternal Spring”, “National Marinera Capital” and “Culture Capital of Peru”, an epithet won due to the considerable amount of national and international cultural events taking place in the city. These include the “National Marinera Contest”, the “International Festival of Spring” and the “International Book Fair”, which is one of the most important cultural events in the country.

Trujillo is close to two archaeological sites, home to important pre-Columbian monuments: Chan Chan, the largest mud city in the ancient world, declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1986; And the temples of the Sun (the largest adobe pyramid in Peru) and Moon.

The city centre contains many examples of colonial and religious architecture incorporating distinctive wrought ironwork. It includes residential areas, a central business district and industrial supply distribution to the various districts. Also, the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Trujillo has its seat here.